the grimsay press

History of the Counties of Ayr and Wigton
Click to enlarge >> 
By Paterson, James
ISBN 090266414x
SERIES Scottish County Histories
Paperback  740 pages
Subject [British History, c 1500 onwards ] [Social & cultural history ] [Local history ] [Genealogy, heraldry, names and honours ] [Family history ] [Rural communities ] [Ayrshire ]
Published 1 January 2004
UK Price £40.00   Order from
US Price $65.00   Order from

Originally published in 1863 in five volumes, with an Appendix and Index in 1871. For each parish of Ayrshire, a short description of the Etymology, Extent, History ( Civil and Ecclesiastical), and Antiquities (where appropriate), is followed by notes on the principal families of the parish. This volume was originally published in two parts, and contains the Parishes of Ardrossan, Beith, Dalry, Dreghorn, Dunlop, Fenwick, Irvine, Kilbirnie, Kilbride, Kilmarnock, Kilmaurs, Kilwinning, Largs, Loudoun, Stevenston, and Stewarton.

View the book Index
© The Grimsay Press, an imprint of Zeticula Ltd., Unit 13, 196 Rose Street, Edinburgh, EH2 4AT, Scotland